Guaranteed to Fail in the nasty o-ten: OSCAR PICKS!

Alright it’s that time of year … Sunday is the Oscars, so, here are my picks for the year.

Based on a conversation with Melanie, I guess I should clarify: All picks are made as if I was a voting member of the AMPAS. I do like to keep track as to how many of my picks/votes win, since I’m obviously right 🙂

So, without any further ado, here we go:

Visual Effects: “Avatar”

Live Action Short Film: “Miracle Fish”

Animated Short Film: “Logorama”

Makeup: “The Young Victoria”

Film Editing: “Avatar”

Documentary (short subject): “China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province”

Documentary Feature: “Food Inc.”

Costume: “The Young Victoria”

Original Song: “The Weary Kind (Theme from ‘Crazy Heart’)”

Original Score: “Avatar”

Sound Editing: “Avatar”

Sound Mixing: “The Hurt Locker”

Cinematography: “Avatar”

Art Direction: “Avatar”

Animated Feature Film: “Up”

Original Screenplay: “Inglorious Basterds”

Adapted Screenplay: “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

Foreign Film: “Un Prophete”

Notes on these, before we get to the biggies —

  • Obviously, anything having to do with visual or the storytelling aspect of a movie goes to “Avatar,” since, truthfully, it’s a one-of-a-kind film.
  • With all apologies to “District 9,” which I really enjoyed, I think should Tarantino not win for “Basterds” for original screenplay, I think itll be highway robbery.
  • “Up” wins animated picture, since it is nominated for Best Picture, but there’s no way it wins.
  • If you haven’t seen “Logorama,” it’s floating around on the Internet. Look it up. Fun, but makes a statement as well.
  • As I told Huntley, “Un Prophete” is my choice for best foreign film for a very scientific reason: It’s the only one I saw a trailer for in a theater.

Okay, now on to the big money. Double down on these, lawyaz:

Director: Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”
Normally, I’m a big believer in a unified director/picture ballot. Does it hold this year?

Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, “Precious: Based on the blah blah blah”
Admittedly, I have not seen “Precious.” However, based on all I read, her performance is Oscar worthy. I mean, that’s saying something about an actress whose best-known role was in “Phat Girlz.” Part of me think that Penelope Cruz could sneak in with a token Oscar for “Nine,” since I don’t have it winning anything else. As much as I liked “Crazy Heart,” Maggie was good, not great. Therefore, I go with Mo.

Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, “Inglorious Basterds”
A performance that makes the movie. It’s rare that I come out of a movie and say immediately, “give him the Oscar” without any prompting, but Waltz’ turn as Col. Landa in “Basterds” prompted such as response. Plus,  everyone I know who saw the movie always talked about Waltz first. That says something. I don’t see any other real contenders.

Actress: Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”
Not that Meryl needs any further accolade, but, her Julia Child was impeccable. She was Julia child. Her performance was the one bright spot in an otherwise “meh” movie. I know there’s a lot of buzz about Sandra Bullock, but I don’t see it. She was sassy and wore tight-fitting outfits. That does not an Oscar make. Not to mention, having spent time in Oxford, Miss., her accent was not that of an old school Ole Miss co-ed. Take that to the bank.

Actor: Jeff Daniels, “Crazy Heart”
Perhaps my one sentimental pick of the bunch … I think it’s well-deserved. Bad Blake wasn’t a real person, but, dadgumit, “The Dude” was Bad Blake. While I think it’s an easy pick, I fear that Morgan Freeman will win. See, I haven’t seen “Invictus,” but, I think I, the pasty-white American from South Carolina, could play Nelson Mandela in a movie, speaking in pig latin the whole time, and the AMPAS voters would hand me the Best Actor Oscar. Sort of like in “Milk” last year, good performance or no, I fear the person being portrayed will be rewarded, instead of the actor’s performance. But, I’m sticking to my guns here.

Best Picture: “The Hurt Locker”
Yep, “Avatar” has raked in more money than most of Africa’s combined GNP. Yes, it was a great movie, and one that I enjoyed. Yes, I think it could very well win Best Picture (and Cameron as Best Director), and I wouldn’t be upset. But after seeing “Hurt Locker” a couple of weeks ago, I walked out thinking that it was, in my heart of hearts, truly the best movie I have seen this year. I’ve never seen anything like “Avatar,” but, the intense ride in the deserts of Iraq is one not to be missed. I mean, I was on pins and needles the whole time during this look into one of the most dangerous jobs in the world, and a glimpse into a poignant, yet almost thrown away line from another war classic, “Full Metal Jacket” — “ain’t war hell?”

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment

Leave a Reply

